It has been many months since I have updated this blog.  The summer has ended and school has reconvened.  The Charles School progresses along with some new staff members, many new students, and an exciting vision for urban, early-college education in the 21st century.

While this post is being written in October, it is the accumulation of many months of thought, development, and growth.  Or rather, it reflects that amount of time elapsed.  I haven’t actually been working on it for that long.  Now that my role at the school has changed, I have to be cautious about what I post and how I synthesize my comments.  No longer a revered teacher (yea right!), I am now under the public scope as an administrator.

An update on my job change.  My official title is Dean of Academics.  Last year, at this time, I was a science teacher and the Coordinator of Academic Technology.  So as the Dean of Academics I oversee a number of aspects of the school, but I feel it very necessary to note that I work collaboratively with my other Deans and the rest of the staff members to develop and evaluate our school and program.  Some of the aspects of the program that I directly work on is the academic curriculum which includes everything from deciding on which courses should be offered, how students progress through our curriculum per discipline and across the curriculum, how grades are determined and when they are delivered, etc.  I also work collaboratively with two other colleagues on the Intervention Assistance Team and the Special Education services.  I am also excited to work with our translator and teacher for our students who have limited English skills.  These are some of the more inspiring students in the building!  I work with two wonderful colleagues on the Advisory and the College Readiness curriculum.  Both of these curricula help support our students growth and development across our program and for college-level expectations.  Along with Senora Perez, I am helping to form our Local Professional Development Committee.  This group is responsible for supporting teachers licensure requirements and offering them an opportunity to develop as professionals.  Finally, my work on the 21st Century Skills curriculum continues.  The Center for Experiential Learning, Leadership, and Technology (CELLT) continues to grind out its work within our school and trying to develop similar programs for other schools in the region.

So what does this all mean?  I don’t know.  It means a lot of work, lots of learning on the job for me, and lots of coffee!  I gotta say, however, despite being primarily a teacher, I am thoroughly enjoying the many aspects of this job.  It has allowed me to work more closely with a few colleagues that I haven’t been as close to for a few years, has enabled me to contribute (in a bigger picture sense) to the mission and development of the school, and it has provided me an opportunity to help my students in a totally different capacity.  They, however, are less thrilled with my new position than I am.  I love them, miss seeing them in class everyday, and am inspired by their example in school.

As I move this blog forward, I am going to be spending the lion share of my time sharing the learning and growth that I am doing.  This is, primarily, going to look like the work I am doing on the various aspects of my job.  I’m not giving the dirty details, but rather, I’ll be going into my learning in LPDC, IATs, differientiated instruction, etc.  As I learn, I hope to post it here so I don’t forget what I’ve learned and hopefully I can find similar info in others blogs.

Long winded diatribe is now over.  ~Ed

