eTech Ohio

 

 

 

On Monday, February second, I participated in a panel presentation regarding the user of electronic portfolios to capture and present student learning.  

 The conference was at eTech Ohio, a conference for educational technology in the state of Ohio.

Our panel consisted of Steve Acker, Ph. D, Sajit Zachariah, and Mary Anne Woloic. Sajit and Mary Ann are working to develop a science, technology, and math (STEM) middle school for Akron city schools. Steve and I have been working together this past year on the 21st Century Skills curriculum for The Graham Family of Schools. Steve provided the theoretical and social basis for our portion of the presentation, whereas I talked about how we, at The Charles School, have implemented these skills for our students.

I gotta say that I do pretty well in these types of forums. I do a good, not great, job of verbalizing what we have done. I excel at communicating excitement, learning, passion, and interest, however!

I am now preparing to develop a presentation for the American Community Gardening Association. This conference is in August at the Franklin Park Conservatory. This is a beautiful facility in Columbus that is near and dear to the city and my heart.

I will post later about my topic and conference details.

