I PASSED!! Somehow, miraculously, I passed my Masters of Science examination. It was perhaps the most bewildering and mind boggling two hours of my life but the committee only took 15 minutes to arrive at a decision.

The process of earning a Masters in Science degree has been the most difficult thing I have ever done in my life! The amount of hours spent on the thesis alone was beyond my initial comprehension. I should not be surprised, however.

I think back on the many hours that I have spent reading scholarly journal articles, time in labs, and time in the field. I have learned from some of the best and brightest individuals in the world and have sat next to some brilliant people who are changing the world around them in amazing ways. I am humbled to have attained such a prestigious honor and know that now more is expected of me.

I am excited to finish my final edits on my thesis, turn my attention to building the community garden and finishing my teaching year off strongly. I cannot wait to have some recoup time, a chance to volunteer some time to a good cause during the summer, and hopefully be working on growing vegetables in a garden behind our first home!! Plus, it’ll be great to spend more time with my beautiful and very patient wife! 🙂

I am about ~20 hours away from completing my thesis and look forward to being completely done. Just in time for spending the holidays with family and friends. Life is good!

